Thank You, Roswell Presbyterian Church!

In the past couple of weeks, the Roswell Presbyterian Church has honored me in two very meaningful ways, and I want you to know how very grateful I am for both.

First, you voted to honor me as Pastor Emeritus, a title which recognized my twenty years of service to the congregation. I’m touched to join my friend and my predecessor, the Rev. Cy Mallard in bearing that title. Cy was a great role model to me of the love and fellowship which stand at the heart of the relationships shared at RPC. I shall always be grateful for his support of my ministry.

Second, you stunned me by renaming the Fellowship Hall as Alderman Hall. What a very meaningful tribute! Thank you so very much. A significant part of my ministry included leading the congregation as we expanded our physical campus, and the Fellowship Hall has proven to play an important role in our congregation’s development.

I remember at the time we were in construction saying that the buildings were going to be a launching pad for the future mission of the congregation. Thanks to your faithfulness and commitment, that has proven to be the case.

Specifically, as I picture the activity in the newly named Alderman Hall, I’m envisioning relationships being built while eating Molly’s incredible meals; I’m listening to classes being taught to enrich the depth of our faith; I’m watching videos of our latest mission endeavor and hearing reports from our outreach into the community; I’m seeing crowds of students gather in the room for a meal in the midst of an exciting eXtreme Retreat; I’m hearing our children and preschoolers sing and present programs…. The list goes on and on…

That room has become a focal point for the life of the church, and I am honored and humbled by your decision to rename the space as Alderman Hall. From the bottom of my heart, thank you!

Things are about the same at the Alderman household these days since last week’s update. Ironically, since I am off of all treatment, I’m actually feeling some better. The most significant part of feeling better is that my appetite has returned! I may have even gained back a few pounds!

To be honest, once we realized that the chemotherapy medicine was no longer effective, there is a real sense of peace at not having to face the side effects that accompanied the treatment. The nurse still comes to do the draining, and Ellie still does the daily irrigating, but both procedures are very manageable, and I’m able to enjoy comfortable and relaxing days.

Thank you for your prayers, your cards and emails, and for the special honors you have bestowed upon me. I’m blessed to have been able to serve with such an exceptional group of people!

Blessings,

Lane

14 Responses to Thank You, Roswell Presbyterian Church!

  1. Lane,
    Thank you for your service to FPC Vicksburg. I remember so well the day you baptized our daughter Stephanie and her cousin Sarah Beth. You said that was a first! You are and have been in mine and Tim’s prayers. Your journey for the past 16 years has shown everyone what a strong faith you have. Your faith has been your greatest sermon. God bless,
    Tim & Leslie Rodgers

  2. Robin Gantz says:

    I am so pleased with the church honoring Lane in such a way. He and his family have brought such meaningful ministry to RPC and continue to guide us in Christian community. God’s everlasting love continues to flow through Lane, blessing all of us and modeling how we live out the sanctity of life. My love to all!

  3. nealgaskin says:

    Well deserved, Lane. When we are in there, it just seems natural that you should be standing on the stage talking to all of us as always. That the hall should be named for you is a natural thing to do. You remain in our prayers.

  4. Georgianna Brabban Johnson says:

    I continue to pray for you and Ellie daily.
    I read about the incredible ministry and profound effect your ministry has had on the members. I knew in seminary that your gifts were many!
    Georgianna Brabban Johnson

  5. Sara Thompson says:

    Dear Lane, you have been such a blessing to all here at RPC but especially to us. You have taught, mentored, and led us in the way
    Christ would say “well done my good and faithful servant”.
    I hope to meet you walking in the great Park one day. Prayers continue for peace and good days for both you and Ellie.
    Sara and Jack Thompson

  6. The tribute to you on both accounts is so well deserved. You have been a servant leader, a wonderful teacher and witness to all of us of strength and of God’s love. We continue to pray for peace for you and Ellie.
    Love,
    Dolores and Carl Duvall

  7. John Preston says:

    Congrats Lane well deserved on both counts

  8. Vaughan Early says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your service at RPC. You were spoken of during our past Sunday service as Larry Neal held you up in corporate prayer. Many such as Fannette Chesser spoike of you mentoring her children.

    May the Father continue to bless you and uplift your spirit.
    Vaughan Early
    FPC-Perry, Fl

  9. Jean Baird says:

    Thank you for your 20 years of service, care and compassion and so many other things you contributed to RPC and the congregation.
    God’s peace be with you and Ellie and know that we all are praying for you and your family.

    Jean Baird

  10. Carol Voglesonger says:

    Dear Lane, your name will forever live on at RPC and I am honored to know you and Ellie:) I hope that each day for you is filled with God’s amazing Grace and comfort. Prayers and lots of love coming your way as you continue along your journey. I admire your strength and courage as you continue to fight this disease. There are just not enough words to describe how I feel about you and your family:)

  11. Kay Lee says:

    Well deserved honors. Thinking of you and praying for all.
    Kay Lee (Lyndsay’s mom)

  12. Grady Perryman says:

    Lane,
    Those two honors are just two examples of how folks hope you hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant!”
    Grady Perryman

  13. Bettina Kilburn says:

    What a wonderful tribute! The heart of relationships at RPC is the sacred soil in which my vocation took root. It has always been a joy to carry that as I minister in God’s vineyard. For all you will always mean to my calling, thank you and to God be all glory!

    Bettina

  14. Carolyn Sonenberg says:

    We are blessed to have you & Ellie in our lives. So glad you are feeling God’s peace & love through all of us. You have certainly dedicated your life to helping others have that. Thank you! As always you & your family are in our hearts & prayers.
    Carolyn& David

Comment on post/content

